Monday, July 11, 2016

Land Line, “Land Line Now” earn honors from KC Press Club

Your OOIDA media are committed to bringing you high-quality news and reporting about the issues that matter most to truckers. On Saturday, July 9, staffers attended an awards luncheon in Kansas City for the Heart of America Press Club. Hosted by the Kansas City Press Club, the magazine and radio show staff brought home a combined 15 awards for their work in print, online, and broadcasting.

"Land Line Now" Host Mark Reddig presents an award to
outgoing Kansas City Press Club President Linda Freidel
during the Heart of America Press Club awards banquet on
Saturday, July 9. Reddig was nominated for and elected to
serve as the club president for the next year.
This year, Land Line brought home 10 awards, including the gold for best Business-to-Business Publication and seven other gold awards for individual achievement. “Land Line Now” netted five awards including a gold for feature reporting.

The official business publication of OOIDA, Land Line Magazine was first published in 1975. “Land Line Now” is OOIDA’s trucking news radio program that airs daily on Sirius XM’s Road Dog Channel. The radio show celebrated its 11th anniversary on June 6.

The Kansas City Press Club is a chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. Every year, the Heart of America Awards honors the work of journalists in the western Missouri and eastern Kansas area. Both the magazine and radio show won awards in a variety of categories.

Below is a breakdown of the accomplishments of the Land Line Magazine and “Land Line Now” staff at the 2016 Heart of America Awards:

Land Line Magazine Gold
Land Line staff – Business-to-Business Publication
Keith Goble & staff – Public Service Project
Jami Jones – News Column/Blog
Debbie Johnson – Graphics
Greg Grisolano - Profile
John Bendel – Beat Reporting
David Sweetman – Non-News Column/Blog
John Bendel, Tyson Fisher, Greg Grisolano, & David Tanner – Magazine Story

“Land Line Now” Gold
Mark Reddig, Barry Spillman – Feature

Land Line Magazine Silver
Tyson Fisher – News Column/Blog
Charlie Morasch – Magazine Story

“Land Line Now” Silver
Mark Reddig, Barry Spillman – Documentary

“Land Line Now” Bronze
Terry Scruton, James Fetzer – Business Reporting
Mark Reddig, Barry Spillman – Investigative Reporting

“Land Line Now” Honorable Mention
Reed Black, James Fetzer – Feature Reporting